Skip to content

Matcha Source Customers are Amazing People

September 4, 2012

I am blessed with the best customers.

It was all an accident – an issue with the order – that brought us together, but totally meant to be.  Recently I wound up chatting with a long time Matcha Source customer and discovered many wonderful things about her.  She is an avid seeker and explorer of all things wellness related and takes time to share her findings in a lovingly written newsletter inspired by her college age daughter. As her daughter was getting ready to leave  home, Mom wanted to stay connected and impart her wisdom.  She now sends out a regular post with her notions on living well, centered, balanced and healthy.  I’ve included the post (slightly edited) for you all here.   Matcha Source is honored to have made the list and to be accompanied by so many other wonderful and time tested traditions.

As part of our exchange, I shared some things too.  They were zenhabits.com, luxirare food and fashion, and belgchic.  If you look long enough you will see that these disparate subjects eventually overlap.

And then, I got this photo and note in reply:

The little critter below is a  caterpillar that will become a black swallowtail butterfly. Isn’t it beautiful?  I plant 15-20 parsley plants in the garden each year….two for me…and the rest of them for these caterpillars who only eat leaves from the parsley family of plants. If I see one of these little guys on “my parsley plant”, I lovingly move it over to “their parsley plant”.

Talk about creating attraction. I love the idea of planting your garden with food for the most beautiful butterflies. That’s what I try to do at Matcha Source. To attract the best people by providing nourishment for heart, mind and body.

Naddy’s Healthy Notions

Ok Ladies, here is my first addition of Naddy’s Healthy Notions!

I look at “ being healthy” as a loving hobby that  I loving choose to do for my body, my mind and my spirit. I am not dogmatic in that you will see words such as “moving towards, working towards, trying to avoid, thinking about doing”. I believe one can place enormous stress on the body when we are “black and white” about our choices, therefore if this is a hobby for me, I am continually learning, continually making positive choices and basically just having a good time at “playing with good health”. ….also making many mistakes and having to laugh at myself!

The things I have listed here are things that I have personally have or am working towards changing in the past 2-4 years in an endeavor to expose myself to fewer toxins and be healthier in mind, body and spirit.

You all might want to divide this list up, each take one of  “Naddy’s Healthy Notion”, research it on your own then present it to the group as a topic for your meeting. That way you get a little bit at a time. I did not do all this in one day, month or year…but have so enjoyed this healthy adventure over many years. Somethings worked, some didn’t.  Sometimes I laughed, sometimes I cried and sometimes I thought….”oh what a silly Naddy I am”!

-Vitamix…..(I bought my first vita mix 20 years ago, just sold it this past summer for $75 and it still going strong!).  Does that tell you what kind of a machine it is.  In my opinion the Vitamix or Blendtec are the only blenders one should own. And one of the best investments you can make in your health.

-Champion Juicer- this is for juicing fruit and vegetables. Not necessary but oh so nice to have. (A lot more complicated to clean than the Vitamix but I feel it is worth the effort).

-Odacite skin care- I have been searching for and trying various skin care products that were totally healthy. I finally found something I believe in. I love the product and their company philosophy.  When I apply the toner…I want to lick my lips….thats how natural this product is.  You cannot buy it in a store…..why?…when you order it they actually send you the newest batch and it has a “use by date” on the bottom of the bottle (six months). Name one other skin care line that does that. Their “trail” size is actually enough for about 2 weeks so one can see if the product works. I was sold after the first night! odacite.com.

-Dairy- I try to avoid dairy, especially milk. This does not mean that I do not like cheese, sour cream, yogurt etc….. I am just learning how hard it is to digests especially milk. I therefore am significantly limiting my dairy in take.

-Cook books- There are a multitude of cook books on Green Smoothies, eating raw, vegetarian and vegan. I am not a vegetarian, a vegan or a raw foodie…..however I do take this into consideration for each meal and lean in those directions as I am coming to believe it is a much healthier life style.  Do I still eat meat, sushi, and bar-b-q….yes..but less often and in much smaller quantities.  This is good for my body, my mind, my health and the planet. Books about nutrition I have loved and learned from:
-Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen by nAi Phyo
-Living on Live Food by Alissa Cohen
-Main Street Vegan by Victoria Moran
-Green Smoothie Revolution by Victoria Boutenkp
-Fresh Vegetable and Fruit Juices by NW Walker
-The Green Smoothies Diet
-Robyn Openshaw
-Raw Food Real World  by Matthew Kenney and Sarma Melngailis

-Yoga- great on multiple levels.  There is a wonderful book “Yoga for Dummies”….. I know sounds funny, but it really is a very good book.

-Meditation- goes hand in hand with yoga-  “meditation for Dummies” also another great book. I work towards doing meditation and yoga daily.  Does this mean I sit and mediate for 30 and do 1.5 hours of yoga daily. No. It means that I work in that direction. Some times it is nothing more than touching my meditation cushion and yoga mat with the thought that I will be back as soon as possible.  When I am hurried, just that simple contact with something that symbolizes calm is enough. There are days where mediation and yoga are only 5 &15 min and other days there they are 30 &1.30 min.  It is the “moving towards” and my “intention” that I rely on to bring me back.

-Probiotics- this little gems really help the intestinal tract. Probiotics are living microflora that play a critical role in maintaining good health. Present in many foods, live probiotic cultures populate the intestinal tract where they play a positive role in digestive and immune health. Probiotics maximize the benefits of a healthy diet by supporting normal absorption and assimilation of nutrients in the gut. Certain probiotic blends help support normal gastrointestinal balance of good and potentially harmful bacteria, and promote regular bowel function.  Tons of information on line about this. Whole Foods has two kinds I like. “Pearls” (Brent likes these) and I currently am using “Primal Defense” by Garden of Life.

-Wise words- I think it is important to read something uplifting every single day and then to sit with what I have read ……and just breathe for about 20 breaths. Seems to center me.

-20 breaths- So important sometime during the day to stop….and be mindful of 20 breaths.  Sit up straight, take an inhalation (4 count) and then an exhalation (6 count).  Or perhaps inhale to a count of 4 and exhale to a count of 8. What ever it takes to center you.  Amazing how this will calm the mind, the body and clear the head..

-Sugar- I pretty much avoid any and all known sugar and especially white sugar and high fructose corn syrup. Quite easy to do when I have my wonderful chocolates to eat.

-Read labels- oh my gosh this is quite and education…..but then you are making an informed decision/ choice about what goes in to your body.  We are what we are from choices we make. “We can nourish or poison our body depending on what we eat.” Ann Wigmor

-Matcha Tea– look up  http://www.matchasource.com
I have been drinking matcha tea for about a year now. Just love it and what it has in it.  The above website really has great information about matcha tea.

-Contacts- I wear contacts. I use the dailies. My eye doctor recently suggested that I rinse the contacts off before using them as there is a preservative in the solution in which they come. She suggested Bio Tru by Bausch & Lomb. I open the contact package. Hold the contact down with my finger, empty the liquid, squirt the Bio True in and then insert the lens.

Deodorant– Crystal   http://thecrystal.com/  About three years ago I quit using “standard” deodorant because of the chemicals. I tried quite a few but like “Crystal” the best. It seems to last for ever but most important it is endorsed by the American Cancer Breast Cancer Council ( not sure that is the exact right group, but they are showing that the chemicals in deodorants and antiperspirants may have an effect on developing breast cancer.

-Plastic bottles- I work towards avoiding all plastic bottles- I fill my own water bottle up at home ( I do have filtered water at the kitchen sink). rom an environmental standpoint, it is very bad to drink water from plastic bottles. Plastics require a lot of energy for manufacture, and they do not break down very readily. People who drink water from plastic bottles which are designed to be disposable are contributing heavily to the content of landfills, and to the general pollution caused by manufacturing the bottles, bottling the water, and shipping the water.

-Filter in shower head- We placed a chlorine filter in the shower head. (They can be purchased fairly inexpensively at Lowe’s/Home Depot) The skin is the largest organ in the body. It has a huge surface area from which to absorb good things and bad things. I feel my skin is less dry since taking the chlorine out of the shower water.

-Water- hot  vs cold– I tend  to drink hot or room temp water mainly because cold water hurts my teeth……..but this is a fairly good article on water and water temperature. From http://www.bewellbuzz.com/
.
-Sun Screen- Sun Tegrity this is a lovely product as a sun screen. suntegrityskincare.com. I found out about this product from the skin care line I am using, Odacite.

That is all I can think of right now ( actually I could go on on and on because I just love this kind of information)……..so to each of you……be well, be happy, be healthy…..most of all have fun with all of this.

Much love to each of you,
Naddy

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

