Skip to content

The Determined Matcha Drinker

August 1, 2014

The following is a guest post by The Determined Matcha Drinker, aka lifestyle blogger Whitney Bryson.  Whitney contacted me and wanted to share her matcha journey with the world.  Since we are all new to matcha in the states, I happily agreed.  Read on to see how she went from excited to cringeful to experimental to joyous matcha morning bliss.  Share your story in comments or on our Facebook page.

The Determined Matcha Drinker

– by Whitney Bryson

Gotcha Matcha Cafe Grade Matcha from Matcha Source

Gotcha Matcha tastes great with bright citrus flavors.

After reading its many rave reviews and a few clicks of my mouse the answer to my body’s prayers was on its way via USPS.

I was sold when I read the word “energy” which is somewhat of a novelty for many of us. I’ll take all I can get!

For the past 3 years I’ve been an on-again off-again juicer and more recently a somewhat picky lover of tea. My incessant need to travel makes being a religious juicer pretty difficult so I’m always on the lookout for an on-the-road substitute.

I’ve juiced enough spinach, kale and bok choy to build up a tolerance to a punch of flavor that doesn’t quite appeal to my sweet tooth, but nothing could prepare me for matcha.

I mixed one teaspoon of my café grade tea with 8oz of hot water. For the mixer I used a battery powered stick mixer. These are perfect for any of you who suffer with arthritis in your hands or, like me, have tendonitis. I let it cool for just a minute and then excitedly took my first sip.

As much as I fear that I’ll be excommunicated from the matcha lovers club -a club that only exists in my head- I have to confess, I didn’t love my first taste of matcha.

As much as I fear that I’ll be excommunicated from the matcha lovers club -a club that only exists in my head- I have to confess, I didn’t love my first taste of matcha.

Ok, I’m trying to break the news gently. The brutal truth is, I couldn’t stand it.

How many of you have seen the YouTube video of babies tasting lemons for the first time? Yep, that was my reaction.

But I don’t give up that easily!

“One week.” I promised myself. “I’ll drink it for one week before I chalk it up as another experiment.”

Day 1: Plain ol’ matcha was a no go, but I wasn’t going to let it go to waste so I reluctantly drank up.

Dat 2: Matcha with milk? Nope. I was oh so excited with the idea of getting my daily matcha and a glass of almond milk in the same sitting, but the excitement was short lived.

Day 3: Matcha smoothie? Never again. My favorite smoothie is mixed berries with one banana, Greek yogurt, chia seeds, flax seeds and spinach. To give it an extra boost of goodness I added a teaspoon of matcha, but my taste buds were none too pleased.

Day 4: Another plain ol’ cup of hot matcha tea again just in case I was exaggerating the first time. Double nope.

“Hold up. Is it just me or do I feel amazing?”

Day 5: Matcha with yogurt. Not sure why I even tried. If the smoothie didn’t work why did I think this would?

Day 6: Pineapple juice. Oh so close! I mixed one teaspoon of matcha with 8 oz. of juice. The pineapple juice almost masked the taste enough for me to commit to it on a daily basis, but not quite.

For the final day I reverted to my trick for weaning myself onto juicing… orange juice. I’m a Floridian after all. I was pretty much raised on the stuff.

Day 7: Success! No face crinkling needed!

Matcha and "friends" - make your own creation with nuts, fruits and berries

Matcha and “friends” – make your own creation with nuts, fruits and berries

And it’s been a teaspoon of matcha with a glass of orange juice ever since.

So to all of you who are struggling to find the perfect matcha drink to start your day, don’t give up!

So to all of you who are struggling to find the perfect matcha drink to start your day, don’t give up! It’s a tea worth sticking with. The energy it gives me keeps me alert and happy throughout the day…

It’s a tea worth sticking with. The energy it gives me keeps me alert and happy throughout the day so that I can go above and beyond for my customers and keep up with my dog Ace.

Try it! You’re going to love the way you feel!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark Manning permalink
    August 2, 2014 11:23 am

    I did not know there was a tea that could give you energy and not be loaded with caffeine and sugar. I will give this a try because I am always low on energy in the afternoon at work.

  2. Emily Smith permalink
    August 3, 2014 1:24 pm

    Great post. Thank you for your honesty. Most people won’t to tell all the positives and omit the negatives. I will definitely give Matcha another try with your orange juice suggestion. Thanks for being the “guinea pig.” Much appreciated:)

Leave a Reply

