Skip to content

Post Wedding: Tonight We Drink The Stars

January 4, 2015

“Come quickly, I am drinking the stars!”

Champagne in tall glasses, served cold, at a happy occasion, indeed we were drinking the stars. Set against the pacific ocean at sunset on a cliff in Malibu, the couple wed in front of 150 friends and family. The apres-ceremony smorgasbord wetted our appetites with icy buckets of oysters and meaty crab legs.  Champagne was served on silver platters.

The couple’s first dance filled the room with joy and excitement which rolled over into a HAVE NEGILA/HORA that got the whole room on their feet.

More champagne.

Salad, more dancing, a toast, a guest serenade to the couple, the meal, more dancing and finally…the cake.

A three tiered butter cream with two cakes inside. The first slice was 4 layers tall with chocolate cake and mocha butter cream. One layer had “crispy bits” in the frosting for texture.  The second cake was fruity with vanilla cake and berries and orange slices. Both were moist, airy, flavorful and everything you want from a happy occasion wedding cake.

More champagne.

I managed to avoid bread, butter, potatoes and sliders and french fries which came out at the very end of the evening. All good.

But then…

There was another birthday party we were invited to and still had a window of time to get to as it was Malibu-adjacent in the Palisades.  We Uber-ed over and TOTAL AMBUSH. Upon arrival the birthday girl said, “HI, welcome, would you like some cake?”  This is the point I should have said, NO THANK YOU. But my eyes and hands and instincts all took over and before I knew it, down went another piece. It was homemade and good, an almond sponge cake decorated with powdered sugar and coconut slices.

So partial success for the night.  Back at the house while our crew continued to drink and eat more cheese and fruit and crackers, I sipped herbal sleepy time tea.

Today another challenge: we are headed over to the post wedding brunch at a fish house famous for their little loaves of fresh baked bread served with a serrated knife and soft butter. It’s OK. I know what I am doing and why.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. cherylkansascity permalink
    January 4, 2015 10:59 am

    I am enjoying your posts! I, too, am on a 30 day “cleanse,” eliminating sugar, alcohol and grains. As long as I’m home and cooking, I’m doing great! But I know I will have my challenges coming up, with my birthday, a weekend away and a business trip later this month. Keep on writing- you are very inspiring!

    • January 5, 2015 3:10 pm

      Hi Cheryl,
      Thanks for the comment and encouragement. Please keep writing and let me know how your cleanse goes. Best, Alissa

Leave a Reply

