Skip to content

Finally a Night At Home, Simple Dinner

January 21, 2015

No plans last night.  Dinner was oven-roasted salmon with sauteed radicchio and a salad.

I’ve been thinking more about knowing the growers and cooks and food handlers and shipping clerks. Imagine if you knew all of the people in the food chain who planted the food, harvested it, processed it, shipped it, cooked it and served it to you.  The closest model i could come up with is the little town in Upstate NY where my family has a summer home.  There are many farmer/growers there with CSAs and it would be truly possible to know the names and faces of the people responsible for generating the food I consume. These include meat and dairy producers as well as vegetable and vegetable growers.

For fish I’d be on my own. It’s been decades since I’ve tried that. Maybe I’ll do it again this summer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

