Skip to content

Day 31 – Ending or Recommitting?

January 31, 2015

Laying off the sauce and battling it out with The Sugar Demon for thirty days reminded me of a few things. One, I give a damn about how well I care for the body I’ve been given.  Two, sugar takes a toll.  Too much of it softens you up, and piles up the plaque and insulin in your blood. Three, everything in moderation – even moderation.  So now the thirty days are done. I cut down significantly while still enjoying occasional sips and bites here and there.

At this point I can choose to continue on this program – reducing sugars – or resume my usual eating breakfast pastry, drinking wine with dinner and finishing off the day with a bite of salted dark chocolate and a scoop of ice-cream.

For me it’s very difficult to have “just a little bit.”  I want all or none. And usually I want all. So I need to find the balance and be at peace with myself. To enjoy food and meals and to be mindful of the choices I make.

I’m not giving up any foods permanently. That’s no fun. Nor realistic.  I do plan though to stay alert and remind myself of what self care looks like.

Bye for now,

Alissa

One Comment leave one →
  1. Steve self permalink
    February 1, 2015 7:22 am

    Thank you for your openness and good humor as you went thru this fast project. I too do this and vacillate at times. I recall Suzuki Roshi pointing out that it is these very failings that are the Way to awakening. But we must meet them and our reactions to them with good hearted curiosity and intimate awareness. As I say no to the late night chocolate, how do I feel? What was/is moving in me that the chocolate was going to ameliorate? This mindfulness transforms “good behavior” and discipline into an adventure on the Path. Plus the source of the craving, grasping, and separation is illuminated, embraced and grows smoothly quiet. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

